Buyer guide for UK and Irish chimney sweeps and stove installers

TradeBooked alternative for chimney sweeps

TradeBooked is UK booking software for self-employed trades, including chimney sweeps. Customers book on a public page, pay a deposit on Pro, and you can issue a HETAS, NACS or Guild sweep certificate on Pro or Autopilot. Standard Solo is £39/month versus Sweep Certificates at £18.50, currently promoted at £29. Standard Pro is £59 versus Premium at £24, currently promoted at £49.

Short answer

TradeBooked is UK booking software for many trades. Sweep certificates sit on Pro and Autopilot, not Solo. Standard Solo is £39/month versus Sweep Certificates at £18.50, and Pro is £59 versus Premium at £24. Those TradeBooked plans are currently promoted at £29 and £49. Sweep Certificates is usually the stronger sweep-first fit: certificates on the core product, a diary and online booking on web and mobile, email, SMS and WhatsApp reminders, line-item invoices, and Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and Sage, from £18.50/month including VAT with a 30-day trial.

Feature comparison

This table is based on publicly listed positioning and the features Sweep Certificates provides today. Always check the competitor's current website before making a final decision.

Area Sweep Certificates TradeBooked
Best fit UK and Irish chimney sweeps and stove installers who want certificates, a diary, booking, reminders and accounts together UK sole traders wanting a 24/7 booking page first, with sweep certificates on Pro or Autopilot
Price £18.50/month Standard or £24/month Premium, including VAT; annual billing 12 months for the price of 11 Solo £39/month, Pro £59, Autopilot £119 on tradebooked.co.uk, currently promoted at £29, £49 and £99. VAT not stated
Market UK and Ireland UK only on tradebooked.co.uk, which says other markets are on the way
Certificates Sweep certificates, warning notices, association templates and independent branding on Standard and Premium HETAS, NACS or Guild sweep certificates on Pro and Autopilot only, chimney-sweep trade type. Not on Solo
Warning notices Included alongside sweep certificates Not listed publicly on tradebooked.co.uk
Diary and online booking Diary included. Online booking is a £10/month Premium add-on on web and mobile, first calendar month free, with travel and diary rules Public 24/7 booking page on every plan. Card deposits and closeout pay links on Pro and Autopilot
Reminders and rebooking Configurable email, SMS and WhatsApp reminders for bookings, appointments and annual rebooks Pro: 24-hour appointment reminder by email, SMS or assisted WhatsApp. Autopilot adds a 1-hour arrival reminder. Sweep pages also list a fuel-aware rebook
WhatsApp and SMS Meta Tech Provider integration, with messages paid directly to Meta; SMS 4.5p/message SMS on Pro and Autopilot, not Solo. Assisted WhatsApp emails you a tap-to-send button. Automatic Meta WhatsApp not listed
Quotes and invoices Quotes, line-item invoices, VAT handling and payment tracking included on Premium Solo: basic PDF invoice with a total and notes. Line items, VAT, CIS and discounts on Pro and Autopilot
Card and booking fees No cut of cash, cheque, card or bank transfer. Online booking does not require card payment No TradeBooked booking commission. Card deposits and payments go to your own Stripe account, so Stripe's own UK card fees typically apply, about 1.5% plus 20p
Users Premium includes three users; four to six users £29/month; unlimited £34/month Solo is single-user. Pro includes two logins. Autopilot includes three. Extra seats: get in touch
Accounting sync Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and Sage Xero and FreeAgent on Pro and Autopilot. Sage and QuickBooks not listed on tradebooked.co.uk/integrations. Solo lists a monthly accountant CSV and PDF export
Photos and calendar Photos on the job in the offline mobile app; diary in the same system Before and after photo tags and two-way Google Calendar sync on Pro. Solo lists a read-only calendar feed
Mobile and offline Native iOS and Android app, offline-first for diary, certificates and photos, then syncs when you are back online Native Android and iPhone apps listed as out now. Pricing also says install on Chrome or Safari for offline save. Sweep-certificate help: drafts autosave offline and the certificate is issued when you have signal again
Free trial 30-day free trial, no credit card 10-day free trial, no card, Pro features included. Autopilot: no free trial, payment due before setup, limited onboarding slots
Other trades Book, quote and invoice other work at no extra cost, while sweep customers still book in Built for many UK trades, including plumbers, electricians, gas engineers and mobile mechanics. Autopilot adds missed-call text-back, social posting and AI admin that many sweeps may not need

Pricing comparison

Plan Sweep Certificates TradeBooked
Solo / Standard £18.50/month Standard, certificates included, incl. VAT £39/month standard, currently promoted at £29. Single user. No sweep certificates on Solo
Pro / Premium £24/month Premium, 3 users, certificates, quotes and invoices, incl. VAT £59/month standard, currently promoted at £49. Two users. Sweep certificates, SMS, photos, two-way calendar and line-item invoices
Higher tier £29/month for 4–6 users; £34/month unlimited users. Online booking £10/month on Premium, first calendar month free Autopilot £119/month standard, currently promoted at £99. Three users. No free trial. Missed-call text-back, arrival reminders and AI admin
VAT Prices on sweepcertificates.co.uk include VAT VAT not stated on tradebooked.co.uk pricing page
Annual billing 12 months for the price of 11, e.g. Premium £264/year Advertised as two months free on tradebooked.co.uk
Card fees No Sweep Certificates cut of cash, card or bank transfer No TradeBooked commission. Stripe's own UK card fees typically apply on card bookings, about 1.5% plus 20p
Free trial 30-day free trial, no credit card 10 days, no card, Pro features included. Autopilot: payment due before setup

Who TradeBooked may suit

A UK sole trader who wants a 24/7 booking page first, will take card deposits through Stripe, and is happy to pay Pro rates for sweep certificates, photos and two-way Google Calendar sync.

Who Sweep Certificates may suit

UK and Irish sweeps and installers who want certificates on the core product, a diary with optional online booking on web and mobile, email, SMS and WhatsApp reminders, line-item invoices, and sync to Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent or Sage.

Pricing and setup considerations

TradeBooked lists Solo at £39/month, Pro at £59/month and Autopilot at £119/month on tradebooked.co.uk. Those plans are currently promoted at £29, £49 and £99, with the standard prices shown crossed out. VAT is not stated on that pricing page. Annual billing is advertised as two months free. Solo is single-user. Pro includes two user logins and Autopilot three. Sweep certificates, SMS, day-before reminders, photos, two-way Google Calendar sync and advanced invoicing are listed on Pro and Autopilot, not Solo. The 10-day free trial includes Pro features and needs no card. Autopilot has no free trial: payment is due before setup, and they list limited onboarding slots. TradeBooked takes no booking commission. Card deposits and payments go to your own Stripe account, so Stripe's own UK card fees typically apply, about 1.5% plus 20p per transaction. Check stripe.com for current rates. Sweep Certificates is £18.50/month Standard or £24/month Premium with three users included, all including VAT, with annual billing at 12 months for the price of 11. Online booking is a £10/month Premium add-on, first calendar month free. A 30-day free trial applies, with no card. Pricing and features below are based on publicly listed information from tradebooked.co.uk and may change. Check each provider's website before deciding.

Sweep Certificates is designed around the way small UK and Irish sweep and installer businesses work: unlimited jobs per month, trade-specific paperwork, automated reminders, quotes, invoices and accounting sync without a heavy setup project.

Choose TradeBooked if...

Choose TradeBooked if you mainly want a 24/7 booking page with card deposits, you are happy on Pro for sweep certificates, and multi-trade booking tools such as missed-call text-back or van stock matter more than Sage, QuickBooks or automatic WhatsApp.

Choose Sweep Certificates if...

Choose Sweep Certificates if you want certificates on Standard and Premium, a diary with online booking on web and mobile, configurable email, SMS and WhatsApp reminders, line-item invoices included, sync to Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and Sage, no cut of cash or bank transfer, and a 30-day trial with no card.

Frequently asked questions

Is TradeBooked a good alternative to Sweep Certificates for chimney sweeps?

It depends what you need. TradeBooked fits a UK sole trader who wants a 24/7 booking page first and will pay Pro rates for HETAS, NACS or Guild sweep certificates. Standard Solo is £39/month versus Sweep Certificates at £18.50, and Pro is £59 versus Premium at £24, currently promoted at £29 and £49. Sweep Certificates fits sweeps and installers who want certificates on the core product, a diary with optional online booking on web and mobile, email, SMS and WhatsApp reminders, line-item invoices, and sync to Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and Sage, from £18.50/month including VAT with a 30-day trial.

How does TradeBooked pricing compare with Sweep Certificates?

TradeBooked lists Solo at £39/month, Pro at £59 and Autopilot at £119 on tradebooked.co.uk. Those plans are currently promoted at £29, £49 and £99, with the standard prices shown crossed out. VAT is not stated there. Sweep Certificates Standard is £18.50/month including VAT, or £203.50/year with annual billing, and Premium is £24/month with three users included. Check each provider's current site before deciding.

Do I get sweep certificates on every TradeBooked plan?

No. TradeBooked help says chimney sweep certificates are on Pro and Autopilot only, gated to the chimney-sweep trade type, signed with your HETAS, NACS or Guild registration. Solo does not include them. Sweep Certificates includes certificates on Standard and Premium.

Does Sweep Certificates include a diary and online booking, or only certificates?

Sweep Certificates includes a diary with certificates, warning notices, quotes and invoices. Online booking is a £10/month Premium add-on on web and mobile, first calendar month free. Reminders go by email, SMS and WhatsApp. Premium syncs invoices to Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and Sage. It is not a certificate-only back-office tool.

Does TradeBooked take a cut of bookings?

TradeBooked lists zero booking commission. Card deposits and payments go to your own Stripe account, so Stripe's own UK card fees typically apply, about 1.5% plus 20p per transaction. Check stripe.com for current rates. Sweep Certificates takes no cut of cash, cheque, card or bank transfer, and online booking does not require card payment when the customer books.

Does TradeBooked include WhatsApp and configurable reminders?

Pro lists a 24-hour appointment reminder by email, SMS or assisted WhatsApp. Assisted WhatsApp emails you a tap-to-send button. Autopilot adds a 1-hour arrival reminder. Sweep pages also list a fuel-aware rebook. Sweep Certificates sends automatic email, SMS and Meta WhatsApp reminders on a schedule you set, including prompts to book the next sweep.

Does TradeBooked sync with Sage or QuickBooks?

Sage and QuickBooks are not listed on tradebooked.co.uk/integrations. TradeBooked publicly lists Xero and FreeAgent on Pro and Autopilot, plus a monthly accountant CSV and PDF export on Solo. Sweep Certificates syncs invoices to Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and Sage.

Does TradeBooked include invoices with line items and VAT?

Solo lists a simple PDF invoice with a total and notes. Line items, VAT, CIS and discounts are on Pro and Autopilot. Sweep Certificates includes quotes and line-item invoices, with VAT handling, on Premium at £24/month.

Does TradeBooked work offline like Sweep Certificates?

TradeBooked lists native Android and iPhone apps, and the pricing page also says install on Chrome or Safari for offline save. Their sweep-certificate help says drafts autosave offline and the certificate is issued when you have signal again. Sweep Certificates has a native offline-first iOS and Android app for diary, certificates and photos that syncs when you are back online.

How long is the TradeBooked free trial?

TradeBooked offers a 10-day free trial with no card, and the trial includes Pro features. Autopilot has no free trial: payment is due before setup, and they list limited onboarding slots. Sweep Certificates offers 30 days with no credit card.

Want software built around sweep and installer admin?

Try Sweep Certificates free and see how certificates, reminders, quotes, invoices and customer records fit together in one place.

Compare Sweep Certificates with other options

Niche competitor Sweep Certificates vs CarbonData Compare CarbonData and Sweep Certificates for UK sweeps on pricing, certificates, warning notices, reminders, WhatsApp, quotes and accounting sync.Niche competitor Sweep Certificates vs Digital Sweeps Compare Digital Sweeps and Sweep Certificates for UK sweeps: iOS workflow, certificates, warning notices, reminders, WhatsApp, quotes and accounting sync.Niche competitor Sweep Certificates vs The Heating App Compare The Heating App and Sweep Certificates for chimney sweeps on certificates, reminders, WhatsApp, quotes, per-sweep pricing and accounting sync.Niche competitor We Sweep alternative for chimney sweeps We Sweep alternative for UK chimney sweeps. Compare per-booking fees, website bookings, accounting sync, reminders and fixed subscription pricing.Niche competitor SmartSweep alternative for chimney sweeps SmartSweep alternative for UK chimney sweeps. Compare pricing, certificates, warning notices, reminders, WhatsApp, multi-user access and accounting sync.Niche competitor Sweep Buddy alternative for chimney sweeps Sweep Buddy ties certificates to Sweep Safe membership. Sweep Certificates is open to all sweeps with SMS, WhatsApp, accounting sync and a 30-day trial.Generic trades ServiceM8 alternative for chimney sweeps ServiceM8 alternative for UK sweeps. Compare job limits, certificates, WhatsApp reminders, quotes, invoicing and accounting sync vs Sweep Certificates.Generic trades Joblogic alternative for chimney sweeps Joblogic alternative for UK sweeps. Compare setup fees, user pricing, certificates, WhatsApp reminders, quotes and accounting sync vs Sweep Certificates.Generic trades Simpro alternative for chimney sweeps Simpro suits growing field-service teams with tailored pricing. Sweep Certificates is simpler from 18.50 a month with certificates, reminders and WhatsApp.Generic trades FieldHive alternative for chimney sweeps FieldHive is general-trade job admin. Sweep Certificates covers certificates, annual reminders, WhatsApp and accounts from 18.50 incl. VAT. 30-day trial.Generic trades TradeFlow / GoTradeFlow alternative for chimney sweeps TradeFlow (GoTradeFlow) alternative for UK chimney sweeps. Compare offline app, certificates, AI credits, reminders and pricing vs Sweep Certificates.Generic trades Zenbooker alternative for chimney sweeps Compare Zenbooker and Sweep Certificates for UK and Irish chimney sweeps on online booking, certificates, reminders, WhatsApp, territories and pricing.